Philosophy Minor

The Philosophy department offers a minor course of study, which may be completed in conjunction with any other major.

Students may choose between a general minor or a minor specializing in logic. No specific courses are required for the general philosophy minor, permitting students to create a program to suit their own interests.

Each of these minors encompasses 20 units of course work.

The abbreviation "PHI" designates courses in the Department of Philosophy.

General Philosophy Minor requirements

•   20 upper-division units in philosophy

•   PHI 12 may be substituted for four of the required upper-division units

Logic Emphasis Minor requirements

•   PHI 12 or MAT (Mathematics) 108 (4 units)

•   PHI 112 (4 units)

•   12 units selected from PHI 113, 131, 134, 135, 189K

Students may repeat PHI 113 when its content differs among quarters.

Students who wish to pursue the logic minor should begin taking courses in their second year, because some required courses are offered with limited scheduling.