Following the UC Davis campus guidance on Coronavirus our office our closed.  The best way to reach us during this time is via email or phone.  
Important contacts:  Main office - email: , phone: (530)752-0703.  Advising - email: or visit the advising website.  Department Chair, Cody Gilmore - email:.   To reach individual faculty, the best way is email.  See our faculty pages.

Current Remote Office Hours - this document will be updated as necessary

Home | Events |

Past Conferences

The Philosophy Department hosts conferences in which visiting speakers as well as UC faculty present their research. These conferences draw participants and audience members from many different institutions.

2013-14 academic year:

April 14 - 15, 2014  •  DEX2 (Davis Extravaganza Philosophy Conference 2)
Speakers: Carrie Ishikawa Jenkins (University of British Columbia), Gillian Russell (Washington University, St. Louis), Irem Kurtsel Steen (Bogazici University), John Hawthorne (University of Oxford), Michael Glanzberg (Northwestern University), Roy Cook (University of Minnesota).  The conference poster is here.

April 26, 2014  •  Berkeley-Stanford-Davis Graduate Philosophy Conference
Graduate students from schools all over California presented papers on various topics in analytic philosophy.

2012-13 academic year:

March 25 - 26, 2013  •  DEX (Davis Extravaganza Philosophy Conference)
Speakers: Louise Antony (U Mass- Amherst), Raffaella De Rosa (Rutgers- Newark), Maya Eddon (U Mass- Amherst), Peter Ludlow (Northwestern), Daniel Nolan (Australian National University), Peter Railton (University of Michigan), Megan Wallace (University of Kentucky).  In the Philosophy Department Library, 1231 Social Science and Humanities.  For a poster of the conference, go here.

2011-12 academic year:

March 1 - 2, 2012  •  Conference on Self-Government and Social Transformation
Speakers: Paul Benson (University of Dayton), Marilyn Friedman (Vanderbilt University), Suad Joseph (UC Davis), Tracie Mahaffey (Florida State University), Marina Oshana (UC Davis), Natalie Stoljar (McGill University), Jennifer Warriner (University of Utah), Andrea Westlund (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee).  In the Philosophy Department Library, 1231 Social Science and Humanities.  For a schedule of the conference, go here.

Nov. 11 - 12, 2011  •  Philosophical Issues in Law, Morality, and Politics: A Conference in Honor of Jerry Dworkin
A two-day conference honoring the work of UC Davis Distinguished Professor of Philosophy Gerald Dworkin.  Invited speakers are Richard Arneson (Philosophy, University of California, San Diego), John Deigh (Law and Philosophy, University of Texas, Austin), Shelly Kagan (Philosophy, Yale), Connie Rosati (Philosophy, University of Arizona).   In the Philosophy Department Library, 1231 Social Science and Humanities.